“Yeah, I’ll believe that the day you give up your lip balm.”
I gasped. “Never. Without it my lips feel naked and alone.” (Charity Rising)”
DeAnna Kinney

People are addicted to a lot of things. I am one of  them. I first encountered lip balm more than twenty-five years ago on my first trip to Canada.  It was winter and freezing cold. The family was there for the holidays. I faced the harsh, cold wind and my lips felt dry and cracked.  I bought lip balm to soothe my dry, chapped lips. Totally loved having that oily feeling on my lips. It felt like my lips were protected from the elements. After that trip, I still continued putting on lip balm even when we got back home to the tropics. Thus began my love affair with lip balm. And my lifelong addiction.

I’ve tried many different lip balms. You name it, I’ve tried it. Chapstick, Lip Smackers, Badger Lip Balm, Burt’s Bees, Nivea, Carmex, Blistex, Eos, Vaseline Petroleum Jelly, fresh Sugar lip balm and other assorted Asian lip balm brands. It took a while before I finally found my holy grail. My good friend, Penny first introduced me to Smith’s Rosebud Salve. She gave me one as a trip souvenir many years ago and I’ve never looked back. It was either Rosebud Salve or Minted Rose Lip Balm for me.  I would buy half a dozen at a time just to make sure I never run out of it. I’ve likely ingested gallons of that stuff already but I don’t care. You can’t make me stop. Nooooooooo.

You always get these questions that ask what is the one thing you can’t live without. Let’s just take out family and friends as part of the choices because we will always say those first. Lest we be judged for putting other insignificant things ahead of family and friends. Faced with that question, my answer is……. LIP BALM. I cannot ever live without my lip balm. A day without lip balm is a day that’s ruined. Nothing ever goes well. That’s how bad it gets when I don’t have my lip balm with me.   I would bemoan its absence in my handbag. Then, I’d go out and buy a new one. It can be any brand, so long as I have something that I can slather on my lips. When I get home, I would always go back to using my one true love, Rosebud Salve and discard the poor thing I bought just to help me pass the day.

Lately, I’ve tried making my own lip balm and was unsuccessful in duplicating the Rosebud Salve recipe. I’m not yet there but I’m having fun tweaking my own formulations and trying out new flavors. They’re fun to test and great as giveaways. I have this lip balm business in mind and I’ve taken steps in making it real. I’ve designed a logo and set up an Instagram account. Here’s hoping it will take off. As much as I love what I make (love your own right?), I still can’t seem to wean myself from Rosebud Salve. Me and Rosebud, we’re  going to be spending the rest of our lives together. Sounds great to me. Excuse me while I put some on my lips now.

Leave a Reply

