Break through all the barriers and feel that you are blessed. This is the one and only step you have to take. The rest will all happen.

-Sri Sri Ravi Shankar

Two months ago, I attended a meditation course called The Art of Living. I was hesitant to attend at first but the program director encouraged me to give it a try. I did and I am so thankful to him. I did not know what it was but I knew I needed help in focusing and centering myself. I felt lost, sad, helpless and useless. This momentary lapse was so unlike me. Being part of the course helped me in so many ways. Aside from the breathing exercises, I was able to keep a network of like-minded and supportive group and we have weekly meditation practices that is open to anyone who wants to join.

This morning, the same program director who “nudged” me before sent a short video on Sri Sri Ravi Shankar and his tips on how to get rid of sadness. It was short but it really packed a punch. I knew I had to share the video because this is what happened to me. I was wallowing in my own self-inflicted misery and feeling sorry for myself. One day, I just woke up and told myself ENOUGH! Enough with this whole woe is me attitude. I have everything I could ever want and need. Fine. Almost everything. Why am I torturing myself with thoughts of what I don’t have or what could’ve been? Looking back, it was an experience I had to go through and I realized I never want to be like that again. Ever.

According to Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, in order to get rid of sadness you have to:

  1. You have to DO IT YOURSELF. Wake up and take responsibility for yourself. It is only in your own mind that you create your sadness. There is nobody who gives misery to others if they don’t take it.
  2. We have too much ambition. And we want too much. It is excessive desires that make you sad. You need to think of desires like a soccer ball. Kick the ball and say, “I DON’T CARE.” Drop the desires and sadness goes away.
  3. Invoke the valor in you. Be strong. Be brave. Be courageous. Face the sadness and confront it.
  4. Offer it to God or the Divine.

It has been two months since I finished the program. I will have to admit that I end up meditating only once a week but it is still very helpful and I try to join group sadhana on weekends once a month. I was also inspired to do more SEVA which is service. According to his book, seva is our own inner joy pouring forth into action.  When you are happy, you want to share that happiness in whatever form it takes.  I have since taken back control of my life from sadness and it has given me boundless happiness, hope and energy. I know I am not perfect. Life may not be perfect but I can handle it. Sri Sri said, Make room for imperfection. Think of it as the area in your house where you keep your garbage. You need that area to keep your entire house nice and clean, right?

2 thoughts on “The Art of Living

Leave a Reply

