Last weekend, we went to watch the live-action remake of Beauty and the Beast and it did not disappoint. I have to confess that I did not watch the recent Maleficent and Cinderella. As much as I heard how good they were, I was just not interested.   I just did not connect with the stories. Beauty and the Beast, however, was altogether a different matter. It was just THAT good! I could go on and on about how good it is from the production, to the casting, and everything else. Again, I just have to repeat that the movie is so good that I will go to the theater to watch it again.

It was back in 1991 when the animated movie came out. I loved everything about it then.  Everything! The scenes, the characters and the songs. I was fifteen years old and in junior high. My journey was just beginning. There were so many things I wanted to do and experience. I can totally relate to Belle when she sang:

I want much more than this provincial life!
I want adventure in the great wide somewhere
I want it more than I can tell
And for once it might be grand
To have someone understand
I want so much more than they’ve got planned

Fast forward to 2017, twenty-six years later and I am almost turning forty. I’ve learned a lot, experienced many things and yet somehow I still get it when Emma Watson sang the same lines in the movie.

And that’s probably why I still feel this connection to the movie. The emotions and hopes that you feel are real. I was brought back to that time in my life when I was younger. This nostalgia made me feel like a teenager again.   It felt like everything was possible and there’s that sense of wonder.   The adventure doesn’t have to be somewhere else. I wanted much more than the box that I enclosed myself in under the guise of cultural norms and traditions.

The old animated movie was great. They didn’t need to fix much with the new live-action remake because it was great to begin with. Me, on the other hand, am also good. No need to fix, since nothing is broken. I just needed time to look within myself for answers that I’ve been steadfastly ignoring or refusing to acknowledge. It’s ok. I am happy in the present moment and living life to the fullest.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “If It Isn’t Baroque, Do Not Fix It

Leave a Reply

