July 2016 will always be a magical summer to remember.  Every time I think of my month in Italy, I just smile wistfully.  I first went to Florence in 2008 with friends.  We visited Rome, Florence, Venice and Milan.  I fell in love with Florence then.  It was just the perfect size and walkable.  The place was full of art and history.  I read up on the Medicis and anything to do with Florence and I promised myself I’d be back.

When I decided to go on a break, Florence was the first place that came to mind.  I knew I wanted go back and that there were many art schools to choose from.  And like a cliched summer student/tourist, I flew to Italy for the trip of a lifetime.

Upon arriving, I went to the Duomo for the obligatory facade shot. The weather was perfect. Oh, how I’ve missed you Florence.IMG_3506

And this was my buon giorno Ponte Vecchio shot…

IMG_4058

Next up. The view of the city from Piazzale Michaelangelo.

IMG_4076

And who could forget the summer crowds?

IMG_4702

And Santa Maria Novella.  I went in the Church to pray and bought perfume afterwards. I like their stuff but you can’t beat Aquaflor. The have the loveliest smelling perfumes. Wait. Picture time.

IMG_3561

Finally, my buona sera Firenze shot.

IMG_5740

These were places I passed through almost everyday.  I just realized I posted mostly touristy shots of Florence. I will look through my pictures for more everyday life pictures.  I can’t help it, I smile whenever I look at the pictures.  I want to go back again sometime soon.  In the meantime, I will just have to remember Florence in my mind.

Leave a Reply

