Every year,  I always go to Art in the Park at Salcedo Village with friends.  This time around, we went first thing in the morning to avoid the afternoon crowds.  We failed to realize that there’s also the opening crowd so it was pretty packed.  And sticky and hot.

FullSizeRender 13

Dubbed as “an affordable art fair”, it is considerably cheaper than buying artwork from well-known artists.  That said, it’s still not thaaaaaaaaat cheap.  Depending on the size and the work, it can range from as low as PHP1,000 (for ceramic bowls) to PHP90,000 (set of 6 printed tiles by Mariwasa featuring national artist’s Benedicto Cabrera‘s variations on SABEL).  For sure there are other pricier items out there, I didn’t ask around anymore.

It was a fine day to take a stroll in the park and admire beautiful artwork by less famous artists such as this colorful rooster.

FullSizeRender 9

And this set of back view nudes. Which made me realize I could sell my nude painting that I did in Florence here.  I just need to have it framed first.

FullSizeRender 8

Also loved this version of Vermeer’s Girl with a Pearl Earring made entirely  of buttons and beads.

FullSizeRender 4

What about this art installation titled “Blossoming of Innocence?”  I seriously hope that there was a fan inside the pile of paper or whatever there.  It really was super hot this morning.  She must be suffering from the heat.

FullSizeRender 10

I found this wooden hanging fixture quite cute. Looks quaint, rustic and old-style Filipiniana.

FullSizeRender 15

There is a wide variety of artwork available this year from traditional to avant-garde.  And you can see work from students to professional artists.  I realize that I need to build a bigger portfolio of work (my paintings and prints) and start selling.  Honestly, you just need to be confident enough to sell your work and price it accordingly.  If I sell it, for sure there will be buyers.

Leave a Reply

