Fitbit Challenge Accepted!

I first got my Fitbit Charge HR in February 2015 from Amazon but it was a lemon so I decided to get a refund instead.  While on a trip to Singapore the same year, I got a Fitbit Charge HR (orange this time) and started to use it since I figured it will help me with my fitness goals.  I wore it on and off for the rest of the year becasue I didn’t feel like I was maximizing it.  All-day desk job and being lazy to work out contributed to really low step count so I just left it on my desk.  What’s the point of wearing it everyday if I’m only going to get around 3,000 steps?

It was only around mid-2016 that I started using it more.  We would have Fitbit challenges with my colleagues and we would actually go up and down 20 flights of stairs during our lunch break.  (Hint:  Stairs are useless to add steps.  It’s good workout but you get sooo tired with each step compared to just walking.)  We also learned that it’s not good to go down 20 flights of stairs and go back up the same number.  Our muscles were like totally wonky from flexing for so long and then stretching for so long.  But we did get our workout, which was the important thing.

After a year, my Charge HR died on me.  The rubber part opened up and it wouldn’t turn on anymore so I upgraded to the Charge 2 which I like so much better and has more functionality.  More of my friends started using Fitbit and we would have weekly challenges and weekend challenges.  Since we all had desk jobs, we didn’t have a lot of steps and the one who won didn’t really have that huge number of steps.  But if we were traveling, our step count went up astronomically and we’d win for that week. Whoever was traveling, always won the challenge. It became a habit and we started having our own Fitbit chat group and we’d meet up on the weekends to hang out.  Not to workout, but to eat. Lol!

Recently though, I’ve started to use more of the Fitbit app aside from just counting steps. I launched into my health and wellness campaign about a month and a half ago.  I’ve been logging in my workouts, monitoring my calories expended, and my heart rate.  Aside from that, I’ve also concluded that I need to eat 1,000 less calories per day to lose weight.  The only thing I haven’t really used is the is the daily food log.  I just feel it’s such a hassle to log down every little thing I eat.  Maybe I’ll get there. Maybe not.

So far, it’s been working out. I feel healthier, stronger and fitter.  I’ve lost weight and continue to do so. I can see the change in my resting heart rate and my working out heart rate.  I try to do more than 10,000 steps a day and I get super happy when I get new badges, especially lifetime badges.  I’ve already peeked ahead into the next few badges and computed how long it will take me to get the next one.  Who else is excited about the Fitbit badges? The next one I’m aiming for is the Great Barrier Reef.  Can’t wait to get it by August this year.

 

Leave a Reply

